Illusions by Aprilynne Pike | Book Review

Illusions, Aprilynne Pike
Illusions, Wings, Aprilynne PikeIllusions by Aprilynne Pike
US Release Date: May 3rd 2011
Publisher: Harper Teen

Series: Wings #3
Source: Library
Hardcover, 375 pages
Rating, Four stars

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

Laurel hasn’t seen Tamani since she begged him to let her go last year. Though her heart still aches, Laurel is confident that she made the right choice, and she and her human boyfriend, David, are more in love than ever.

But just as life returns to normal, Laurel realizes that a hidden enemy lies in wait. Once again, Laurel must turn to Tamani to protect and guide her, for the danger that now threatens Avalon is one that no faerie thought would ever be possible. And for the first time, Laurel cannot be sure that her side will prevail.

Summary from Harper Teen

bluedivider

Laurel is now in senior year at Del Norte High School. Despite all that happened, she tries to live a normal life. But when Tamani enrols as an exchange student at her school, all becomes even more complicated.

In my review of Spells, I was starting to dislike Laurel, I don’t know if I’m the only one? Things got worse in this book. It’s a pity because it’s the only negative thing I have to say about the book, this book was a lot about Laurel’s relationship with the two men, I didn’t mind it and I loved Tamani as always. I can understand that it’s hard to choose between two people you have interest in, but she’s bringing it to the next level. Poor David and Tamani! And yeah, she’s still acting careless even after what happened in Spells and what Jamison told her. She never learns of her previous mistakes I guess.

I loved that some chapters were from Tamani’s perspective. I think it made me even more in love with him then before. Laurel must choose him, I’m team Tamani even more then before!

But the end… I want to read the last book now! For the first time in the series, there’s a real cliffhanger at the end. I love cliffhangers even if they can be frustrating, especially if the book is not out yet. Luckily, this one is. And I will be reading it soon!

First Line

The halls of Del Norte High buzzed with first-day-of-school chaos as Laurel wedged herself through a crowd of sophomore and spotted David’s broad shoulders.”

Favorite Quotes

He’d been back for about two weeks, and everything in Laurel’s life had been thrown into chaos. Sexy, sexy chaos.”

“Thank you for the exquisite comfort of your kitchen floor.”

Book Trailer (Don’t watch it if you didn’t read Wings and Spells!!)

Wings Series
Wings Series, Aprilynne Pike

Wings (Wings #1) [my review]
Spells (Wings #2) [my review]
Illusions (Wings #3)
Destined (Wings #4) [my review]

bluedivider

Author’s Info:
Aprilynne Pike, WingsAprilynne Pike has been spinning faerie stories since she was a child with a hyperactive imagination. At the age of 20, she received her BA in Creative Writing from Lewis-Clark State College in Lewiston, Idaho. When not writing, Pike can usually be found at the gym; she also enjoys singing, acting, reading, and working with pregnant mothers as a childbirth educator and doula. Pike currently lives with her husband and three kids in Utah, and dreams of warmer climates. From Harper Teen.

For more info on Aprilynne Pike, visit her sites:
Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook

bluedivider

Find me on twitter twitter feedburner rss bloglovin’ bloglovin or goodreads.

Leave a Reply

